SPE WA Section Scholarships Awarded for 2017 By Michelle Lim, SPE WA, 10 Oct 2017

The Western Australia Section of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE WA) provides scholarships annually to support Western Australian university students specialising in fields of study that will lead to a professional career in petroleum engineering.

In 2017, SPE WA offered four scholarships with a value of $2,500 aimed at engineering students in Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees pursuing a career in the oil and gas industry. These scholarships are aimed at recognising, encouraging and assisting talented and passionate individuals who are the industry’s up-and-coming energy professionals.

The recipients of the 2017 awards were selected based on academic performance, extra-curricular and volunteer involvements, and demonstrated interest in the oil and gas industry.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 scholarships:
• Rahul Suresh, Mechanical Engineering, University of Western Australia;
• Kyle Colvin, Petroleum Engineering, Curtin University;
• Jarrod Hastie, Petroleum Engineering, Curtin University; and
• Kieran Trump, Petroleum Engineering, Curtin University.

The scholarships were presented by SPE WA 2017-18 Chairperson, Mitch Sherston, at the SPE WA Annual Black-Tie Fundraising Ball on 29 July, 2017.